News Release

Resignation Of Directors

The Board of Directors of Banyan Tree Holdings Limited ("BTH") wishes to announce that Mr Yeow Yew Keong and Mr Surapon Supratya voluntarily resigned as directors of BTH with effect from 9 January 2007 in order for BTH to improve its compliance with the principle of good governance of having "a strong and independent element on the board, which is able to exercise objective judgement on corporate affairs independently, in particular, from Management".

With their resignations, the Board comprises 5 directors, 3 of whom are independent. They are Mr Chia Chee Ming, Timothy, Mr Dilhan Pillay Sandrasegara and Mrs Elizabeth Sam. The remaining executive directors are Mr Ho KwonPing, Executive Chairman and Mr Ariel P Vera, Group Managing Director.

Both Mr Yeow Yew Keong, Managing Director, Marketing and Mr Surapon Supratya, Group Managing Director of Laguna Resorts & Hotels Public Company Limited, will continue to hold their current executive positions and remain as Executive Officers of BTH Group.

  • By Order of the Board
  • Jane Teah
  • Group Company Secretary
  • 9 January 2007

  • DBS Bank Ltd and UBS AG, acting through its business group, UBS Investment Bank, were the joint global co-ordinators and bookrunners of the initial public offering of the shares in Banyan Tree Holdings Limited.

    Back To Top